A look back in History: The Friendly Sons of St. Patrick - Philadelphia Joseph P. Heenan February 5, 2018

Since the Society's founding there have been eight United States Presidents who have held membership in the Philadelphia Friendly Sons of St. Patrick,

George Washington Andrew Jackson Ulysses S. Grant Grover Cleveland Harry S. Truman John F. Kennedy Richard Nixon Ronald Reagan

During the close of 1945 and in March of 1946 the following officers of the United States Army, Navy and Marine Corps signified their desire to become members in "the Philadelphia Friendly Sons of St. Patrick", and were inducted unanimously in March of 1946.

President of the United States, Harry S. Truman

General of the Armies John J. Pershing

General Douglas MacArthur, Supreme Commander, Pacific

General George C. Marshall, Chief of Staff

General Joseph W. Stilwell, Chief of Staff

General Alexander A. Vandegrift, Commandant, United States Marine Corps.

General Brehon Somervell, Commanding General, Armed Service Forces

General Mark W. Clark, Commanding General, United States Forces in Austria

Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, Commander-in-Chief, Pacific

Admiral Ernest J. King, Commander-in-Chief, United States Fleet and Chief of Naval Operations

Admiral Harold R. Stark, Commander, Atlantic Fleet, Chief of Naval Operations

Admiral Jonas H. Ingram, Commander-in-Chief, Atlantic Fleet

Admiral Richard K. Turner, Commander, Amphibious, Pacific

Lieutenant General James H. Doolittle, Commanding General, Army Air Force

Lieutenant General Albert C. Wedemeyer, Commanding General, United States Forces in China